Corn free products and information at your fingertips

Adapting recipes

I was in need of something chocolate, so I scoured the cookbooks I have for the right recipe, but as always, I could not use all the ingredients in the recipe I landed on. I have tried adapting the same recipe in two different ways within the last couple of days.

The recipe called for agave and vanilla extract. Extract is made with alcohol and that is derived from corn – so that item is Out. The agave is something I tried in other recipes and was not too thrilled, so I decided to use honey instead.

My first attempt was very sweet and I cooked it just a tiny bit too long, but it turned out to be a good brownie consistency. Encouraged by that I came up with a new recipe and I love it! It is perfect cake brownie consistency, not too sweet, is good as is, but I will be adding to the recipe soon. I have already had two thumbs up on this one.

More on this later.

Leave a comment